Make phone calls easy and fun by providing a calling script—you can even be an example of how easy it is by demonstrating a phone call in person or video recording yourself and sending it around as motivation. For the federal level, legislators only want to hear from constituents, so encourage people to only call their three Members of Congress that represent them (one Representative and two Senators). Provide the district office numbers, not the Washington, DC office, for more direct influence.

The Essential Components of a Calling Script

  1. Start by identifying yourself as a constituent. Hi, my name is ___ and I live at ___.

  2. State the reason you’re calling. I’m concerned about ___ / I want to talk to you about ___.

  3. Explain why this vote is important and affects you personally, someone you know, or your community. You can also provide a few facts for advocates to use, but personal stories are certainly the most effective.

  4. Ask the legislator’s opinion on the topic. How will Representative/Senator ___ vote on ___?

  5. Listen. Then reiterate your position. As a constituent, I find that really encouraging / disappointing. I strongly encourage Representative / Senator ____ to support / oppose ____.  

  6. Thank you for your time.

District Office Phone Numbers

Representative Tim Walz 507-388-2149 / 877-846-9259

Representative Jason Lewis 651-846-2120

Representative Erik Paulsen 952-405-8510

Representative Betty McCollum 651-224-9191

Representative Keith Ellison 612-522-1212

Representative Tom Emmer 763-241-6848

Representative Collin Peterson 218-847-5056 (Detroit Lakes)  / 507-537-2299 (Marshall) / 320-235-1061 (Willmar, Montevideo) / 507-637-2270 (Redwood Falls)

Representative Rick Nolan   218-454-4078 (Brainerd) / 218-464-5095 (Duluth)

Senator Amy Klobuchar 612-727-5220 (Metro) / 507-288-5321 (South) / 218-287-2219 (Northwest & Central) / 218-741-9690 (Northeast)

Senator Al Franken 651-221-1016 (St. Paul) / 218-722-2390 (Duluth) / 218-284-8721 (Moorhead) / 507-288-2003 (Rochester)


Don’t know who represents you? Enter your address at The third person on the list is your Representative. Minnesota’s US Senators are Senator Amy Klobuchar and Senator Al Franken. You should encourage advocates to call all three of their representatives!